#RPGaDay 21: Funniest misinterpretation of a rule in your group

RPG a Day 2016 image

Each year we celebrate Autocratik’s #RPGaDay, where we spend a month celebrating RPGs, discussing what we love and what we love about them. Here are the responses of the TRF crew. Be sure to tweet, blog, or post your own with the #RPGaDay!

For August 21, what is the funniest misinterpretation of a rule in your group?
Aser – We used to think you could fire two full auto bursts in one round while playing Warhammer: no wonder combats were so short… 😛
John D. – I can’t think of a recent one; I did initially misunderstand the likelihood of overheat and proper utilization of a plasma rifle to my detriment.
Jonn P. – In one of my gaming groups, the DM told a player to roll a “survival” check to see if they would “survive” after being poisoned.
Megan – My favorite was when we let a shotgun impale in our first Call of Cthulhu game. It really worked out in my favor.
Mike G. – Using Time Stop within a Time Stop. I mean, really?
Patrick – Not really a rule slip up but we had a GM who mistook the words ‘Granite’ for ‘Garnet’ and ‘Sconces’ for ‘Scones’. We crawled through the Tomb of the Flamboyantly Gay Baker, decorated with garnet scone lined walls and garnet doors. We joked about just taking the doors off their hinges and retiring without completing the adventure.

Leave a Reply